Health is crucial

Health is the most valuable thing we human beings have.

If you are not healthy your life has many negatives added. Anything from discomfort, to daily difficulties and financial burdens. And there is more. A lot of us know about headaches, back pain, bad eyesight and cramps. Can you imagine living with one leg? Being in a wheelchair? Being blind?brainfood-01-resized-600

I am writing about this today because before Christmas my father was heavily injured by a car accident. He was hit on a Saturday evening at a Zebra Crossing and has most of his limbs badly broken. they kept him in a coma for about three weeks. No damage was done to the brain or to the torso. Most people would see this as a positive thing, but anyone who knows my father more directly agrees that it would be for the best for him not to survive this. However he will.

Let me elaborate: My bather had a brain infection in 1994. He was in a coma, they brought him back to early and the brain started to bleed heavily. For the last 19 years my dad has been paraplegic which means half of his body is paralysed which after a while results in a permanent cramp. His paralyses is vertical, so the right side of his body is affected. He spent 8 months in rehabilitation back in 1994. This incident also affected him mentally. My father has lost most of his short term memory to say the least.

So now he will face all of this again for the second time in his life. The first time round it cost him most of his mental capability but not enough to not realise what he has lost, his family life, his career and well everything else except for living on his own and being independent.

Rehabilitation with a paralyzed led and arm when most of your limbs have been broken, easy? No. Noone can really be sure what the results will be when he wakes up. But joy won’t be one. Pain and suffering, swearing and sorrow will be.

The good thing to come from this is that my mother has finally decided that I should love and live how I want as long as I don’t hurt anyone on purpose. She has come to terms with my polyamory since she has realised how ethically and honest I try to do things. Life is too short and frail to waste it disagreeing with someone you love šŸ˜‰

But what else are you going to do in a situation like this? Live your life more healthily. I for one will be eating more consciously, drinking less and try to cut out smoking completely. And no these are not New Year’s Resolutions!!

Love and Be Loved,

ThePolyOrange

Leave a comment